Learning how to bake: Raspberry and Orange Muffins

Have you ever just had the urge to be good at something that you are simply horrible at? Well, for me that is baking. I cannot bake, like, at all. I am nervous every time I come to try it, it is an art, and I am not an artist. I am too heavy handed and blasé about it all. So, this is it, I am determined to get this. By the end of the year I will be able to have at least one dish that I can bake well consistently.

So I am starting a review process. Every time I bake, I will photograph it, taste it, review it and correct my mistakes. Here are my notes.

The Attempt: Raspberry & Orange Muffins

Recipe: Hairy Bikers – https://www.hairybikers.com/recipes/view/berry-orange-muffins

Did I follow the recipe: to the letter… apart from the raspberries as I only had half of what the recipe required.

Texture: good, its made with wholemeal flour so it was a little dry

Moisture: good

Decoration: I put a little lavender honey on the top, it didn’t look particularly glamorous but it tasted great.

Taste: nice, not sweet but more of a breakfast muffin.

Notes: the recipe is super simple and easy to follow, it doesn’t require a lot of mixing and it’s a throw it all in a bowl type of deal. They were just a little underwhelming, it defiantly needed more orange and I would like them a little sweeter as well. I also put less raspberry in than was required and found that to be more than enough. So I would put in more orange, stick with half of the raspberries and make it a bit sweeter. The recipe is great for those that struggle with breakfast in the mornings and want something on the go; they are quick and simple to make, and they are made with honey rather than sugar so they aren’t bad for calories either. Overall good recipe but I would tweak it a little.

Until next time.

Grabbing a Metaphorical Bull (My New Year’s Resolutions)

I know that the last two years has taken it out of most of us and we all could do with a stiff drink and some good news. So, I raised my glass this new year and thought of the people who didn’t make it and how shit 2021 truly has been, all in all…

My Favourite Weekend Slimming World Breakfasts

Avocado Bowl For those relaxed Sunday mornings where I can take my time I love to make this avocado bowl, it is light and fresh, full of vegetables and is 3.5 syns per portion. Ingredients 2 bacon medallions Low-calorie cooking spray 200g of button mushrooms, halved or chopped 100g baby spinach 8 cherry tomatoes 2…

International Women’s Day 2021

International Women’s Day is a global day celebrating the social, economic, cultural and political achievements of women. The day also marks a call to action for accelerating gender parity. Significant activity is witnessed worldwide as groups come together to celebrate women’s achievements or rally for women’s equality. – http://www.internationalwomensday.com International women’s day is marked to celebrate…

Social Media

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/GracelessLiving/

Youtube – Graceless Living

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCta-Z8jGFj67WXYPi315fAw

Goodreadshttps://www.goodreads.com/user/show/108913955-graceless-living


Leave a comment